Strawberry and thyme jam.

This year for Christmas I decided to make delicious gifts for people.  With all of the ideas I had, including pies wrapped up in dish towels 60’s style. I decided to go with jam, everyone loves jam…but I wanted to do something no one could really buy in the store.
I was thinking to myself and, I remembered a few years back I visited this herb garden that did a beautiful maze throughout the summer.  They would sell herbs by themselves but they would also make fruity jams, jellies and chutneys with the herbs as well.  One combination that they made was strawberry and thyme, I remember it smelling and tasting so delicious.
So that’s what I did, I made a sweet and savoury  jams.

Ingredients:
3 1/2 – 4 cups of strawberries (halved)
3/4 cups brown sugar
2 tsp thyme (chopped)
1 tbsp lemon or orange juice
“Optional – 1 tsp vanilla, gelatine (for consistency)”

Equipment:
Cutting board.
knife.
Medium sized pot.
measuring spoons/cups.
rubber spatula.

Method:
1. Combine strawberries, sugar, thyme, citrus juice and vanilla if you wanted it in a pot and bring to a boil.
2. bring down to a medium-low heat and let simmer. Occasionally stirring.
3. Place a small plate in the freezer, this will be used to check the consistency.
4. After about 15 minutes stir and put a little on the cold plate, if the liquid is thick and not runny it’s done!!  Take off heat and let cool. Enjoy!
Note: If you are worried about it still being to runny you may add a little gelatine to it, just follow the instructions of the package.

DSCF1723

Leave a Reply

