Waffles two ways.

I hope everyone had a fantastic holiday this past week!  Turkey eating and gift exchanging is now over, and it’s time to prepare for the new year with drinking and resolutions.  Have you come up with yours yet? (let me know in the comments below) I have mine.  This coming year I plan to: move across the country in May, travel a lot more, create more recipes to share, and of course try as many new things as I can…like hot air ballooning!
This year for Christmas breakfast I woke up early to make some of my family waffles, it’s been a while and I was craving them.  While preparing them I thought I’d mix it up by contrasting them; Everyone always has vanilla, so why not make chocolate ones as well?  Delicious right?  I figured now would be the best time to experiment with measurements…everyone is always so forgiving during the holidays.  It’s also impressive even if you did mess it up.

So here we go, fantastic waffles to impress anyone: you’re family, a friend or maybe even a date. 😉

Ingredients:
312.5g all purpose flour (or pastry flour)
1/2 tsp salt
1 tbsp baking powder
3 egg yolks (save whites)
325ml milk
125 melted butter or oil
1/2 – 1 tbsp vanilla (personal preference)
3 egg whites
30g sugar
**3/4 tbsp of cocoa powder per 1 cup of vanilla batter*

Equipment:
Stand mixer OR
1 medium sized bowl, whisk.
2 smaller bowls.
rubber spatula.
scale.
measuring cups and spoons.
waffle maker.
ladle.

Method:
1. Heat waffle maker up.
2. Combine flour, salt and baking powder in a bowl and set aside.
3. Mix together egg yolks, milk, melted butter (or oil), and vanilla.  Set aside.
4. Whisk egg whites till a “soft peak” (A soft peak is when it creates a peak like structure when lifted with a whisk, then slowly falls back down) and add sugar.  Continue to whisk till it creates a “stiff peak” (A stiff peak is when it creates a peak like structure when lifted with a whisk, and stays in it’s place.  When the bowl is turned upside down it should stay in place).  Your egg whites should look fluffy and silky.
5. Whisk together your wet and dry mixtures you set aside before till it has no lumps.
6. Gently fold your egg white mixture being careful not to over mix or let out to much air (the air bubbles are what creates a fluffy delicious waffle).
7. Add your cocoa powder to however much batter you want, I added 3/4 tbsp to every cup I used.
8. Pour some batter into each side of the waffle maker, close and let cook till green light comes on.
9. You’re done, enjoy your breakfast!!

 

"Stiff peak"

“Stiff peak”

DSCF1727

Vanilla and chocolate waffles, whipped cream and sprinkled cocoa powder.

 

5 thoughts on “Waffles two ways.

  1. I am just keeping to the course that I set on 2013. Not really adding anything new. Just taking some time here and there to readjust as needed.

    Hope you have a great new year!

    As for cooking…I am trying to expand my limited abilities. I will give this a go once I feel brave enough. Ha ha!

    • That’s always the way to go! That way you don’t break any haha. I’m always trying new things, so every year I say I’m going to try even more.

      Good! It’s really simple, never be afraid of experimenting with food. It’ll Taste good if you want it to.

Leave a Reply

