Cinnamon rolls with a sweet dough.

Last night I really felt like eating a cinnamon roll, but I really did not want to get dressed and go to the mall just to buy one.  So instead I stayed in my comfortable sweat pants….and just thought about them.   This morning however was a different story. I  even went to the grocery store and bought some unsalted butter for a better roll and got to work.
As I was baking I was also doing laundry, something I really did not want to do.  I guess the baking part made up for it.  On my way down to the laundry room I noticed two police officers standing by an apartment, waiting.  Now before I go on let me tell you, over the last couple of years this apartment building has become really sketchy.  So to see some police officers I was not surprised, actually I was kind of relieved.  As they were chatting with me, being friendly and telling me how hot it was on my end of the hallway.  I told them it was probably my fault because I’ve had my oven on for a long time.  I mentioned I was baking cinnamon rolls, and told them if they are allowed to accept random baked good from strange ladies I’ll bring them some.  They were amused.
Once they were done, I bought out some rolls like I said I would.  One officer was gone, which is unfortunate for him.  He really enjoyed it and told me it was delicious.  So I guess you can say that by law they’re the best. ;P

**Warning, these are not calorie friendly.

Equipment:
Stand mixer with paddle and hook attachment. (or a bowl, spoon and whisk)
Medium bowl.
Small bowl.
Rubber spatula.
Small pot.
Measuring cups and spoons.
Cake pan or high sided baking sheet.
Knife.
Rolling pin.
Pastry brush.

Ingredients: (Sweet dough)
1 cup milk.
1/2 cup unsalted butter. (extra set aside for brushing and your pan)
1/2 white sugar.
1 tbsp vanilla.
1 tsp salt.
5 cups flour.
1 package instant yeast – about 2.25 tbsp
4 eggs.
Oil for rising dough.
Ingredients: (filling)
3/4 cup butter – room temperature.
3/4 brown sugar.
2 tbsp cinnamon. (more if you like extra)
grated nutmeg (optional)
Ingredients: (very quick and easy “glaze”)
some butter.
1/2-1 tbsp brown sugar.
splash of vanilla.

Method:
1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.
2. Combine milk, butter, white sugar, and salt in a small pot.  Place on stove and lightly heat it up.  Do not simmer, this is simply to warm up enough to melt the butter. (If the liquid is to hot it will kill your yeast once added.)
3. While milk mixture is being warmed up, combine half the flour and all the yeast in the stand mixer.
4. Combine warm liquid slowly to flour and yeast.  Mixing on a slow to medium speed.  Once incorporated scrap down sides and paddle.  Place on a medium speed and add one egg at a time, scrapping down sides as needed.
5. Once mixture is smooth, Replace the paddle attachment with the hook and add the rest of the flour.  Knead on medium to high speed till the dough forms a smooth ball and no longer sticky to touch.  Scrap down sides as needed.  About 3-5 minutes depending.
6. Lightly oil your medium bowl and place dough inside, cover with plastic wrap or a clean dish cloth.  Place in a warm area and let rise to double its size.  This will take about 1 hour. (I always place my dough to rise on the back of the oven, where it is warmest but not to hot.)
7. In the mean time you can make your filling.  Mix together butter, brown sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg.  Set aside.
8. Once dough is double in size, punch it down and lightly knead once or twice. Flour your work surface and the dough.
9. Roll your dough into a rectangular shape.  It should be roughly about 1/4 inch thick. (Don’t worry it doesn’t need to be perfect!)
10. Spread your filling over the dough, leaving about an inch all the way across length wise to help seal it.  Now roll roll roll, making sure it’s nice and tight.
11. Cut the log into about 1 inch pieces and place on a buttered baking pan. Coat the rolls with melted butter to help keep them moist while baking.  This will also help them become a more golden colour.  Let your rolls rise for about 10 minutes before baking!
12. Bake for about 20 minutes, or until golden brown.
13. While rolls are baking you can make your “glaze”.  Combine butter, brown sugar and vanilla in a pot or bowl and melt together.  Once rolls are out of the oven brush them down with your “glaze”.
14. Enjoy!!  …Oh and be nice to your local cops, offer them one too.  You never know when you’ll need their help.

Leave a Reply

