Iced ginger green tea.

Lately I’ve been cutting out as many sugary drinks as possible.  I knew that I couldn’t just drink coffee all day, I would be so dehydrated (as much as I would love to). I also knew that drinking water all day could be boring, even though I actually like the taste of water.  So I decided to make my own healthy versions of iced tea.  Green tea is really good for you;  It has antioxidants in it which keep you looking young and fresh, it speeds up your metabolism and helps with your heart.  Ginger is also great for you by helping with stress, has anti inflammatory effects, boosts the immune system and helps with nausea.  Both of these ingredients have way more health benefits and are extremely healthy.  So it just made sense that I would make an iced tea out of them for a refreshing beverage.
Now this doesn’t mean I’ll never enjoy a Dr.Pepper ever again. It’s all in moderation right?

This weeks post as you can see is a little simple and that’s okay.  Every once in a while it’s okay to take it easy and enjoy the little things life has to offer.  Plus I’ve been so busy planning my big move, making sure everything is perfect!  I’ve also been working a lot to save up those dollars.  I’m such a procrastinator that if I don’t go crazy with lists and planning there’s a good chance I will wait till right before I leave.  So whoever is reading this I hope you enjoy it, because this drink has defiantly helped me this past week.

Ingredients:
5-6 bags of green tea.
About 3 ounces of ginger, or whatever your taste buds call for.
Two table spoons of honey. More or less depending on your taste

Equipment:
1 juice jug.
A spoon for stirring.
1 medium pot.
Knife.
Cutting board.
A spoon for peeling the ginger.

Method:
1. Peel ginger and cut into slices.  Combine with 5-6 cups of water in a medium-sized pot.
2. Bring water and ginger to a boil, turn temperature down and let simmer for several minutes; Until ginger is nicely infused with water.
3. Let the water cool just a little, about 5 minutes.  Combine ginger water and tea bags in a juice jug.  Let steep for 5 to 10 minutes.
4. Take tea bags and ginger pieces out and compost it.  Place tea in fridge to completely cool.
5. ENJOY!!

**I accidentally used the wrong tea when I made it again, being tired and all….so the colour is a little off in this photo.

1966786_10152013168273404_872385266_n

Leave a Reply

